History of the Internet

The internet is something that I’ve come to use everyday. Sometimes all day. Occasionally, I start to twitch and stutter my words if it’s been too long a time span between times online. But in my near 30 years, this was not always the case. My family didn’t have a computer in our home until I was in high school and we didn’t have internet access until I was in college…and that was dial-up. Oh, how I miss the screeching dial-up tone, and that no one could make or receive a phone call while someone else was online. And I miss the treasured “You’ve got mail!” It’s quite sad to know there is a whole generation that has no idea what I’m talking about…or the future generations that will have never experienced any of these. I’m sure they would disagree they were missing out.

Our first group project in Web Media 1 was to present the history of the internet. The only requirement was each entry on our timeline had to include a visual. My group took the open creative license and ran with it. You would think in a web-based class there would be plenty of technical presentations, so we went with the polar opposite and rocked the theatrical interpretation. A less formal presentation, but we hoped equally informative through humor (complete with my Yahoo yodel).

Tossing the yarn to make "the web"

There were 4 groups total each presenting on the same topic. Because we had such an open-ended assignment, each presentation was very different from the others. I really enjoyed the group that used yarn and “host” signs to visually display how the web was an interconnected network. While we were all working with relatively the same information, each group focused on different aspects of the history and I learned something new with each one. In all honesty, I had no idea the internet had such a history. It seems like a relatively new technology, but it’s roots are as far back as the ’50s. It’s amazing to think of the original intent for the internet and what it has become today. It was once merely a means to transmit information under the threat of nuclear warfare, but today it’s something used in everyday life. I’m writing this blog post as I sit in the service lounge while my car gets an oil change. I just checked the status of my recent Amazon order. When I’m done with this post, I can post my homework online for class critique. Thanks to the internet, gone are the days when sitting in the service lounge all afternoon meant crossword puzzles and word finds. Unless you want to challenge someone in California to a word find race.

Hold our yarn web with hosts

Leave a Reply

